Extraordinary Merry Christmas

One week before Christmas, and I felt really horrible that I couldn’t be home for this Christmas. Every year, my big family of “Mantarena” always having our extraordinary crazy Christmas vacation. Just yesterday, my cousin messaged me and wandering whether it will be a really snowy glistering like-in-a-movie Christmas up here in Seoul. But I replied “Nah, just ordinary Christmas” . Then she replied ” yep, nothing like our last Christmas, right?”

We never had snow in Indonesia, neither we can decorate outside of our home like in movies, or doing some Christmas shopping, no Santa Claus in front of shops, no amazing lights and big Christmas trees. It has been in my mind forever, that Christmas SHOULD BE celebrated in one of the four-season country, where snow falls and I can put on my winter coat and boots. But, just this Christmas I felt it, that all those things don’t matter for me…

Every year, I decorate our home with the 25 years old Christmas Tree, put the lights and cotton to make it looks like snowing. In my childhood days, me and my sister would put our shoes filled with grass under our beds, and in the morning the grass will be gone, exchange with a present. Present from Santa Claus.
Then on Christmas eve we will cook the ‘special’ dinner. sometimes it’s Chinese food, Japanese food, nothing really related to Christmas actually.
Then these few years, the big family always go on vacation together, mostly to the resorts where we can just sit down, chatting, eating, and singing our voice out. And most of all, laughing and laughing.

When I came to think about those things, what really matters for me on Christmas day is my beloved ones. How we spent our time together, laughing, although we are nowhere near snows and big Christmas trees.

A few days ago, I was really sick and couldn’t get off my bed, although I feel really hungry. I had a severe stomachache. But then, A package arrive, like a very big present covered with Christmas wrapping. It was Christmas present from my family. I opened and every piece of present make my heart felt warmer and warmer. It was a combination of my favorite snacks, food, medicine, a little wooden tree, and handmade scarf. For a moment I felt like I’m back in my home, decorating my old Christmas tree…

I am going to spend this Christmas without my family. No doubt. At least I already realized, that all these years, I have been wrong. The Christmas I spent with my family is nowhere near ‘ordinary’ or ‘boring’, in fact, it was a really extraordinary Christmas. Because it is not the snow, nor the lights from Christmas tree which make Christmas special, but it’s who you are with. πŸ™‚

So I would like to say to my beloved ones, An extraordinary Merry Christmas!! ^^

About tjespringroll

busy enjoying life ^^
This entry was posted in Everyday life, Korea, My Precious, While in Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extraordinary Merry Christmas

  1. Cee says:

    Merry Xmas to U πŸ™‚
    Something far away,makes us realize how meaningful it is

    I miss our big family and our vacation together

    β™₯ β™₯ β™₯ CC

  2. hanafi says:

    Nice…….

Leave a comment